Getting in Shape

So I’ve been thinking a lot about getting in shape, shedding a few pounds and being able to exert a little energy without passing out…I think about it a lot and rarely follow through…which is why I don’t really blog about it because I figure I’ll just fail and then you’ll know what a loser I am. But I’ve started again trying to motivate myself to get down a clothing size and get in shape. One thing that was a little motivating was that I got a free Shape magazine in the mail and then I found this offer code and got a 12 month subscription for $1.49! Anyway, starting tomorrow I’m going to be watching what I eat a little more closely.

Yesterday I started working out…I pulled out a DVD my mom had given me for my b-day this last year (I hadn’t exactly opened it because it was right after another failed workout attempt and I was feeling a little low) – anyway I did the 25 min. express work out from this dvd. I was feeling pretty good about myself after that. I have been talking about doing the “couch to 5K”  that I read about from Josh & Alyssa. So this morning Michael offered to go with me as I tried the first step…I thought it was going pretty well…until I started to feel kind of bad while we were walking back to the house – long story short – I vomited on the side of the road – gross! I knew I was out of shape but I didn’t know it was that bad! Ridiculous – I felt so stupd! Anyway, that’s how it’s going so far…we’ll see if I get up the nerve to try the running again…

4 thoughts on “Getting in Shape

  1. You sure the vomiting was from working out and not the heat? I’m waiting to get the go ahead from my doctor this week so I can begin working out again. Maybe once I move, we can work out together once a week. It’s always better with a friend!

  2. I wish I was there so we could do this silly thing together! Although it does get harder, at the same time it actually gets better! Keep it up and keep us posted. 🙂

  3. Ellie! Love the new site look. 🙂

    I’m with Beth…it’s probably the heat rather than the exercise. That should be encouraging! You can do it! Lots of water and as early as possible. One thing I learned while training with Austin Fit is the trick of time/rest time. If you have a watch with a timer, set it for two minutes or one minute to start. Then just switch between walking and jogging when it beeps until you get your stamina built up. I was doing a 4 minute run with a 1 minute walk, but in this heat I have switched to a 2 minute run with 1 minute walk. (take water with you also…sips only.)

Leave a Reply

