Paperback Swap Update

OwlI know I said I wasn’t going to post this week, but I have a few minutes right now during lunch and I thought I’d give you a little update on the paperbackswap! And show you this really cute picture by one of my favorite artists, Stephanie Fizer! You can get a personalized bookplate of this little owl in her etsy shop!

So far I have mailed 31 books and received 30 books! I know, it’s crazy! Now I have all these books piling up that I want to read and they just sit there at my desk mocking me because I can’t read them right now! Here are the books I’ve received since my last update and I thought it would be fun if I put in parenthesis why I got these (at least for the ones I can remember!):

1. The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson (Allison and possible bookclub choice)
2. Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah (NY Times Bestseller List)
3.
Gods and Generals by Jeffrey Shaara (Civil War Class)
4. Inferno by Dante Alighieri (b/c I read The Gargoyle and possible bookclub choice)
5.
The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien (I just liked The Lord of the Rings and thought I might like to read this)
6.
Once and Future King by T. H. White (Allison and that’s what Magneto was reading while in jail in one of the X-Men movies…although that’s not a real reason)
7.
Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson (10 Best Books of 2007)
8.
The House of Gentle Men by Kathy Hepinstall (possible bookclub choice)
9. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde (possible bookclub choice)
10. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (possible bookclub choice)
11. Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder (possible bookclub choice)
12. Miriam’s Kitchen: A Memoir by Elizabeth Ehrlich (Lauren Winner)
13.
The Turn of the Screw by Henry James (possible bookclub choice)
14. The Red Tent by Anita Diamant (I think I saw another bookclub reading this)
15.
Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay (NY Times Bestseller List)
16. Confessions by St. Augustine (future textbook)
17.
She : A History of Adventure by H. Rider Haggard (future textbook)
18. The Wisdom of the Enneagram by Don Richard Riso, Russ Hudson (Shauna Niequist)
So, there you have it…wonderng what I’m going to read first? I have no idea! However, I can see on paperbackswap who is waiting for any particular books I own, so I’ll probably start with one that someone is waiting for so I can send it off to them when I’m done! Way too much fun! I just love reading!

3 thoughts on “Paperback Swap Update

  1. Hmm I’ve read the Red Tent and it is graphic and Biblically inaccurate. Easy to read though!

    I can’t wait to reread The Devil in the White City (if we get to in book club). It’s on my all time favorites list!

  2. That sounds like such a superb idea! I love Dorian Grey – it’s one that I revert to every few years. I’ve read a few of Henry James’, including The Turn Of The Screw – think I prefer the others (The Beast In The Jungle particularly).

    Wow, that’s so fun! Once I’ve got through my current pile I’ll be checking Paperback Swap out…

    Enjoy,
    Rosie

  3. I think out of all of us, you have received and sent the most books!! I am guessing that is because you still have a bunch to read for school and to give away from school — but seriously…that is a lot of books, friend! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

