Artichoke and Eggplant Panini

I’m doing it again…I’m posting a recipe without a picture and I’m su sure this will keep happening for a little while… I tried out the Artichoke and Eggplant Panini from May’s Gourmet magazine. So, I wasn’t a huge fan of this. First, I think I preferred the way the eggplant was cooked in this recipe as opposed to grilling it like I did for this one. However, I did make this more than once so the next couple times I still grilled it but I cut the skin off after grilling. The other thing that I think didn’t go very well was the cheese. I think we got the wrong cheese. Jeremy said it was in the fontina category but I don’t think it was what the recipe was really suggesting. I did make it once with some fresh mozzarella and that was a little more mild and I liked it more. I did think the artichoke/caper spread that went on the bread was pretty good. I probably won’t make this again, but I think I’ll be making more grilled sandwiches and definetly try to use more eggplant in my cooking. Another thing is that I think from now on my grilled cheese will be made with olive oil instead of butter – I like it better!

2 thoughts on “Artichoke and Eggplant Panini

  1. Yeah, I’m not sure how I feel about eggplants. I like them when they’re breaded and fried, but what’s not good breaded and fried!

Leave a Reply

