Book Review: The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

the-bell-jar I know, two book reviews in a row! Although it makes me sad to not be posting something crafty…I am so looking forward to my two weeks off from school! I take my finals on May 15th and after that I have two weeks before I start the next 8 weeks of insanity!

I finished this book on Wednesday night – it was our March bookclub book (yes, I started reading it in March). I’ll be honest, I was a little disturbed by this book, not because I thought what the character, Esther Greenwood, was going through was appalling but because in a weird way I felt like I related to her (yikes!). I enjoyed the beginning of the book, but it was a little hard to read as it got darker in the middle. The girls who had finished it on time to discuss it at book club kept telling met hat it really does end on a positive note, so I powered through. And it’s true, it really does end on a positive note! Of course I read the ending and then at the back of my book was a biography of the author – that made the ending not so positive. The Bell Jar is really a somewhat fictionalized autobiography of Silvia Plath. She went through most of the events in the book herself, however later on in life she was successful in committing suicide, so although the book ends in a positive light, the bell jar, as it turns out, did finally descend on Sylvia later on in life was Esther feared at the end of the book. It was very interesting, very well written. It was definitely a book that was hard to put down, but to be honest, pretty depressing and dark.

One thought on “Book Review: The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

  1. I am really glad that you pushed through and finished it. I think because of Sylvia’s real life this book gets looked at with a tainted view…it truly does show the power of hope and healing albeit most of us don’t need to go through shock treatments to get it!!

Leave a Reply

