Book Review: Gray Ghosts of the Confederacy

brownleeThis is one of the reasons I have been so behind on reading my bookclub books (Although I did actually purchase In Defense of Food and plan on reading that when I have a moment!). My Civil War class has been very interesting and I really have enjoyed learning about this pivotal event in our American past, but there has certainly been a lot of reading! Jeremy reminds me that a lot of college students don’t actually do all the reading assigned to them, however I had to remind him that I don’t have the luxury of listening to a lecture, so really if I don’t read, I don’t know what is going on! And to top it off I’m kind of a nerd and sincerely want to be able to talk at least a little intelligently about the Civil War! Anyway, all that to say there has been a lot of reading and last week I had to write a short book review of this book – which I hadn’t read, so I read the whole thing last week (on top of all my regular reading), so I think last week I read a good 500+ pages!

I thought this book was very well researched and did an excellent job of using primary sources in the text. It was, however, a very detailed account of guerrilla warfare in Kansas and Missouri. Honestly, this book seemed very boring to me at first, but I eventually got into the flow of the writing and ended up enjoying it. I would however, only recommend this book to someone who is either a big Civil War fan or interested in an academic historical read. Here’s a link to my review if you’re really interested (but I somehow doubt very many people will be interested in reading this book! That’s ok, I don’t think I would have read it if I didn’t have to!).

One thought on “Book Review: Gray Ghosts of the Confederacy

  1. Count me as one of the few, the proud who not only read your review of the book (excellent) but also added it to my “To be read” list. A book about Civil War history? I’m there!

Leave a Reply

