Shrimp and Scallion Dumplings

This month’s issue of Gourmet had a page at the very back that had recipes for 4 different kinds of different types of dumplings! Dumplings or potstickers have always been one of my favorite things to eat we go out to eat Asian food and here was my chance to make them myself! So last week I made the Shrimp and Scallion Dumplings. The cool thing is that each recipe cooks the dumplings in a different way – boil, deep fried, and pan fried! The ones I made called to be boiled so they were a lot like dumplings you find in soups. I won’t lie, the texture of the shrimp was a little weird, but I thought they tasted really great! We topped ours with low-sodium soy sauce and hot mustard like the recipe suggested – yumm! They did take a little longer to make than I had anticipated – mostly chopping the shrimp and then folding the dumplings – oh, and it says to cook them in 2 batches in a medium pan, well, I must have a really small ‘medium’ pan because I had to do several batches! I’m excited to try the other recipes and I think I will try these again sometime!

2 thoughts on “Shrimp and Scallion Dumplings

Leave a Reply

