A Study in Scarlet

a-study-in-scarletThis weekend I finished reading the first of of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s books about Sherlock Holmes. A Study in Scarlet is the first book that Doyle wrote introducing Holmes and Watson. He wrote this story along with The Sign of Four before writing his more popular The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. I picked up a copy a while back at 1/2 Price Books – The one I got is not the one pictured on the left. I got a copy with amazingly tiny print that includes A Study in Scarlet, The Sign of Four, and The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (for $1). So I have just finished the first one! I’ll be honest, I can see why this wasn’t a favorite for too many people…It was going pretty well, you get to the point where Holmes and Watson catch the ‘perpetrator’, only to have the chapter end and for the book to move on to Part II. Part II starts off in a completely different place with completely different characters – I was completely lost! (I just used completely 3 times in a sentence, that can’t be good). It went on like this for chapters with only a small amount of hints suggesting that this was still actually part of the book I had been reading earlier. Finally in the end everything connects together, but the transition wasn’t even a transition at all and I think that was a little frustrating. I will continue on to read the other stories, however for now I’ll be taking a Sherlock Holmes break…

I thought it would be fun to pick one of the books I have sitting on my shelf that would be fun and a relatively easy read. On the same trip that I had purchased A Study in Scarlet, I had also purchased Arthur Golden’s Memoirs of a Geisha. I did see the movie a couple of years ago and although I was enjoying it quite a bit, I remember it being somewhat ruined by the people that I was watching it with (especially when people showed up near the end and didn’t know what was going on and were making fun of it!). Anyway, I bought the book for a dollar and have looked foward to reading it. I started reading it on Sunday evening and already I can’t put it down! I better save some for the plane ride!

3 thoughts on “A Study in Scarlet

  1. Hm. . .I don’t know if Sherlock Holmes is for me. 🙂 I loved Memoirs of a Geisha though – the book was better than the movie (of course) and the imagery is just hauntingly beautiful. It is certainly sad at times, but probably not as sad as Snowflower and the Secret Fan!

  2. I don’t think I would have picked up Sherlock either…but the Geisha one…maybe. I am looking for a good book to take with me to CO next week…gonna go browse 1/2 price this week. *crossing my fingers*

Leave a Reply

