CISS 170: Intro to Computer Info Systems

 I know I haven’t been blogging quite as often as I had been recently…to be honest, I haven’t been in a very bloggy mood. I’m feeling a little down. I’m sure it’s just combination of several things going on right now. I think it all came to a head yesterday as I just realized how sad I am to leave my job in December and how much I am dreading going through the job searching process. I think I was ok with leaving my job until I was asked to stay about a month ago. I thought through it and decided that yes, I would like to stay, only to be told that they had changed their minds. And now I’m having trouble letting go. And that’s not even mentioning the fact that I hate applying for jobs, interviewing for jobs, being rejected for jobs, etc…Yuck – I think I feel like if I put it off I won’t actually have to do it, which is dumb. Anyway, a little blue over here at the EllieK blog…

On a completely different note, I started my second online course with Columbia College of Missouri I am trying to finish up these last few gen ed requirements and this computer class is one of them! Honestly, I have not had a good attitude about this class – it’s a lot of money to spend to learn either 1) things I just don’t care about, like how a computer works – I have an IT guy for that, or 2) stuff I already know…plus the books for this class were absolutely outrageous! The school had custom books made, so you had to buy them from the school – I’ve never spent so much on books for one class and it’s not even a major class – ridiculous! Anyway, last week and this week have focused on using Microsoft Word…The picture of is one of my first projects for the class. Now, I don’t consider myself to be a graphic artist by any stretch of the imagination, but this flyer was kind of a joke…oh well.

On a positive note, I have actually learned a couple really cool things. For one, I had to get Office 2007 for this class, which I had never used before. There are some awesome new tools in this version! My absolute favorite so far is the References tab. You select a style (APA, MLA, etc), then  you can open a box and enter in the the informaiton they ask you (such as author, year of publication, etc), and then the program will put your citations either in the text or in your footnotes! Amazing! But, wait, it gets better – at the end of the paper when you get to your Works Cited page, you just click on the bibliography button and it generates your Works Cited page for you! formatted, alphabetical order, everything – it is beautiful! I don’t know about you, but this is a part of writing papers that I really dislike, and now they have made it so easy! I wish I had this for my last class, but I’m sure it will become very useful in the future! So after this class, just two more gen eds to go – Ethics and Biology! B.A., here I come!

Leave a Reply

