Book Update

This last week I have been reading Generation Me by Jean Twenge. I feel like I am learning so much about myself and how I relate to other people! Thinking about the items in the book as been very interesting and Jeremy and I have been have some great conversations about it. I’ve only just finished the third chapters (although the chapters are kind of long) but I am excited to continue on to the end. Some people I have talked with found the book somewhat depressing, and I must admit, it can be, but I tend to be a somewhat hopefully person and am a little more interested in what we can do change the negative direction that our generation seems to be going. It makes me a little more nervous to have kids, because I worry that we will make them more messed up than we are! So far, I think everyone should read this book, those of us in Generation Me (born after 1970) and those older than us as well. For our generation it will help us be more aware of the narcissistic direction we are taking and for those older than us, I think it will help them understand us better and through this both parties will achieve less conflict and frustration with the other generation. The book is even helping me understand the older generation better. I will attempt to write a proper review after I have finished the book, but if you just can’t wait until then, Beth has already finished it and written her thoughts on the book here.

2 thoughts on “Book Update

  1. I’m glad that you’re hopeful with the book. 🙂 I tend to be a pessimist more than an optimist (although I’m trying to change) so I think that’s why the book depressed me a bit. I’m glad that you’re enjoying it! I do think everyone should read this book as well.

Leave a Reply

