My first whole chicken!

That’s right! I had never cooked a whole bird before. It took some courage, but I sucked it up and bought a little chicken. Tonight I went for it! I was a little grossed out, but I made it through. It turned out great! I even made giblet gravy with the ‘extras’! I also made stuffing, but that wasn’t quite homemade (I’m still a pretty big fan of Pepperidge Farm!). Anyway, I was so proud of myself! And it was relatively easy and so inexpensive. That whole chicken was only $4 – it was like 86 cents a pound! I definately think I’ll be doign this again.

3 thoughts on “My first whole chicken!

  1. That’s awesome Ellie! How did you make it? My mom always uses Pepperidge Farms stuffing for Thanksgiving and I LOVE it. I think it’s the best out there!

    One of my favorite ways of preparing a whole chicken is sticking it on an opened soda can filled with water (I think you could do it with beer too) and rubbing the whole thing down liberally with lemon zest, rosemary and salt. Yum! It is certainly an affordable way to prepare chicken!

Leave a Reply

