Hoison Beef with Vegetables

Last night I tried out Taste and Tell’s Hoison Beef with Vegetables. Jeremy and I were not fans. I guess maybe we don’t like Hoison sauce…I took a picture but I forgot to get it off the camera…maybe later. I used a red bell pepper instead of yellow – because the yellow ones looked awful when I was at the store. I also added some onions. I thought it was kind of bland and just didn’t have a good taste. Maybe if you really like hoison sauce you should check it out, but I will be deleting it from my recipes.

I hate it when you cook a new recipe and it’s disapointing. I don’t think it happens very often, but last night was a diaspointment. Although it wasn’t too bad; I mean, we still ate it. It just wasn’t as good as I wanted it to be. I did, however, make up for that. I ate a nice bowl of Haagen-Dazs honeybee vanilla ice cream with crushed up chocolate cihp cookies and homemade chocalate sauce!

2 thoughts on “Hoison Beef with Vegetables

  1. I only like Hoisin when it’s mixed in with other things (like soy, rice vinegar, sugar, garlic, ginger. . . etc). Otherwise, it tastes odd to me.

    Last night, I made pork with pineapple salsa and it was good, but Serrano peppers are apparently way to hot for me. . .so while Jason enjoyed it a bunch, I ate it very carefully. 🙂

    And I love honeybee ice cream! That sounds like the ultimate dessert!

  2. I’m so sorry you didn’t like it! It was my first time using hoisin, and I liked it, but it could just be difference in taste preferences. I wonder how it differs from brand to brand as well. Better luck next time!!

Leave a Reply

