Death of a Salesman

This is another play that I had to read for the class I am currently taking (and almost finished with!). I also read this one in high school, but honestly didn’t remember very much of it. Jeremy, on the other hand, remembered almost everything, even the character’s names! Once again, another very sad story. I think the biggest theme that struck an emotional chord for me was the way this family had spent years lying to each other to the point of believing the lies themselves and being unable to function without lying to each other. So sad. I have never seen this play acted out, but I imagine it would be easier to understand that way. While reading it you really have to pay attention to the stage directions and sometimes read parts of it out loud as one of the characters goes back and forth between real time and the past, sometimes at the same time. I think if you’ve never read it, it’s a classic and really short, but it isn’t a very happy play…why are so many classics sad?

One thought on “Death of a Salesman

  1. I think we read this too in high school but I don’t remember any of it! I do remember that we read it around the same time as the Glass Menagerie but I don’t remember any of that play either. . .

Leave a Reply

