A Doll’s House

So I remember reading this play in high school and that it made me mad. I had to read it again for the class I’m taking right now and I wondered what my response to it would be years later after I had been in more relationships and experienced life a little more. Turns out, this play still upsets me, even though I think I am a little more understanding of the main character, Nora. She is trapped in a marriage where her husband treats her like a child and doesn’t really know her. In the end she decides to leave and find herself. Honestly, I feel like, fine, leave your husband (no, I’m not condoning divorce), but what makes me mad is that she leaves her 3 children as well. It’s so selfish. She thinks she’s not the right person to take care of her children and that she needs to start thinking about herself. I think this is a load of crap. Sure, she needs to find herself, but she has children, they don’t understand that – they understand that their mother left them. I don’t know why this play upsets me so much; I can’t even really put it into words…but it does. I hate it when people are so selfish and to the detriment of others.

One thought on “A Doll’s House

Leave a Reply

