Jane Eyre

Well, this last weekend I finished reading Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre. I’m taking an English Comp class right now and at the beginning of the course we had to pick a book to do our research on. We wrote to smaller papers, one on how the time of the publishing influenced the book and one on how the author’s life influenced the book. Our final paper (due in just a week and a half!) can be on anything we want concerning the book, however it is supposed to be longer…

I chose Jane Eyre because it was mentioned several times while I was reading A Thirteenth Tale (which I enjoyed so much!). And I thought, “why have I never read Jane Eyre”, so I submitted it as my research book. Of course, after that I went to the bookstore to pick it up and discovered that it was 450 pages long! But in the end the length didn’t matter, it was well worth the read. I enjoyed this book very much. I think that if you like Jane Austen, or enjoyed Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights, then you would probably enjoy this book. I thought it was a pretty easy read; sometimes the dialogue could be a little tricky and would take a little longer, but it is often so witty that it’s worth stumbling through it!. Great book and I think you should add it to your list! Romance, mystery, twisted plot, and very smart!

One thought on “Jane Eyre

Leave a Reply

