Lemon Bread Recipe

I know, I’ve had this picture on my blog recently…but it’s the only one I have of the lemon bread (and the only one I had of the chocolate as well). So of the three bread/cake items I made for books club, this one is my favorite and a must for people that love lemon! I think it works best in the small bread loaf pans…

Lemon Bread

Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
1 cup of sugar
2 eggs
2 Tablespoons lemon juice
1 Tablespoon grated lemon peel
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup milk

Glaze:
2 Tablespoons lemon juice
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar

Method:
In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Beat in eggs,lemon juice and peel. Combine flour, baking powder and salt; stir into creamed mixture alternately with milk. Pour into 2 greased small loaf pans. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until bread tests done. Combine glaze ingredients. Remove bread from pan; immediately drizzle with glaze. Cool on a wire rack.

One thought on “Lemon Bread Recipe

  1. I really, really enjoy this bread! It has the perfect amount of sweetness and lemony tartness. That loaf you sent home with me went into the freezer until day before yesterday when I pulled it out for breakfast. Yum! Lori G. loved it, too! So, a couple of weeks in the freezer, STILL good as fresh.

Leave a Reply

