Brea’s Meatloaf

I think I mentioned a couple weeks ago that we had dinner with our friends the Carrols and the Setters. At this dinner, Brea served meatloaf. I’ll be honest I had only had meatloaf one aother time in my life and I think it may have been at camp…not a great exerpience. There is something about putting the words meat and loaf together (I generally feel the same way about meatballs-although I’ve eaten those more often). Anyway, I was a little nervous, but just figured I put some mashed potatos on top of them so that I couldn’t see the meat on my fork and I would go for it! Well, I’m so glad I did because it was very good! So good, that I decided to make it myself! Jeremy has asked me to make meatloaf for him several times and I always tried to ignore it, but I decided I finally could do it!

I go the recipe from Brea and it was so easy! Sorry there is no picture…turns out meatloaf takes a little while to cook so I was very hungry by the time it was done and instead of letting it cool for a bit I immediately dumped it out on a plate – resulting in more of a meatpile instead of a meatloaf. But it still tasted amazing! And yes, I made myself some mashed potatos to go with it too!

I try really hard not to be a squeamish person, but honestly, when I stuck my hands into a big bowl of ground beaf and other items…(see recipe for details), I thought at first I might lose it! But I powered through. It happens once in a while when I’m in the kitchen…I get grossed out by meat…once when I was making ribs, and then several times when I’ve worked with raw chicken…but I made it!

Here’s the recipe, you should totally try it out!

Brea’s Meatloaf

Ingredients:
3 pounds ground beef  (or turkey…I might try that sometime)
1 medium onion
1 egg
4 oz. tomato sauce
1/2 can cream of mushroom soup
1/2 cup evaporated milk
1 teaspoon worshteshire sause
1 teaspoon season salt (I didn’t actually notice that it said season salt so I just used salt and it turned out fine)
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt (I used garlic powder)
1 teaspoon pepper
12 crackers, crushed

Method:
Mix all ingredients together, pleace in a greased loaf pan and cook at 350 for 1 1/2 hours.

One thought on “Brea’s Meatloaf

  1. I make meatloaf all the time, but I just eyeball everything that goes in…that is how long I have been making it – no measuring needed! LOL I typpically use hamburger, onion, shredded carrots, worceshire, an egg and breadcrumbs in mine. then about 10 minutes before it is done I put a sauce that is a mixture of ketchup, mustard, and brown sugar on it to glaze it. Yum! Also, I don’t use a pan to cook it in so it goes A LOT faster…I just form it into a loaf and plop it on the cookie sheet and it is usually done in about 30 minutes. 🙂 It is so delicious!

Leave a Reply

