Poppy Seed Cake Recipe

My mom sent me three different ‘bread’ recipes for me to try out at my book club. I think she was only anticipating my making one or maybe even two…but I just couldn’t choose! So I made all three! Here is the pic of the Poppy Seed Cake (my mom’s recipe says bread but I made mine in a bundt pan because I thought it would be prettier!). Mine turned out a little dry. The recipe says to cook it for 45 min. I took mine out a little early and still thought it was dry, so I would start checking it around 30-35 minutes to make sure it stays a little more moist on the inside. Also, my mom said that she never makes the glaze with this but I did and I really liked it. I had hoped that the glaze would be white and that it would be all pretty as it fell down the sides of the cake, but it was not…sadly.

Poppy Seed Bread (or Cake!)
Makes 4 small loaves or 1 bundt pan

Ingredients:
2 1/4 cup white flour
3 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 cup of milk
1/2 cup oil (or less)
1 1/4 cup sugar (the original recipe calls for 1 1/2 cup but I only used 1 1/4 and it is still quite sweet…my mom wrote on her recipe that you could even  use less than that…she’s always trying to be so healthy!)
1 1/2 Tablespoon poppy seeds
1 1/2 teaspoon vanillla
1 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1 1/2 teaspoon imitation butter flavoring (my mom never used this either since she had trouble finding it at the store, but I used, so I think you could go either way)

Method:
Mix all ingredients together and beat 2 minutes. Pour into 4 small loaf pans or 1 bundt pan (greased and floured). Bake 45 minutes (or less!) at 350 degrees. Let cool in pans for 5 minutes then drizzle with glaze.

For Glaze:
Mix the following ingredients together:

1/4 cup orange juice
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 teaspon each of vanilla, almond extract, and imitation butter flavoring

One thought on “Poppy Seed Cake Recipe

  1. I bet if you used powdered sugar in the glaze instead of regular sugar it would be white. . . it was pretty tasty – Jason has an affinity towards all things with poppy seeds so I may just have to make this some time. 😉

Leave a Reply

