Book Club Recipes #1 – now with pictures!

We had book club on Friday! Jeremy had the day off so I decided to take it off too! We started the day off by sleeping in and then throwing some clothes on so we could walk over to Village Inn for breakfast. It was quite delightful! We then went home and got in the car to go grocery shopping. As soon as we got home I started cooking….and I baked and cooked pretty much all day up until girls started showing up for book club! I must admit, I thoroughly enjoyed this! I said I would post the recipes on my blog! I don’t have a lot of time right now (and obviously am pictureless at the moment) so I’m just going to post the recipes that I can link to. The other recipes (namely, the poppy seed cake, the lemon bread, and the chocolate tea bread) will have to be posted later!

Mushroom Bacon Triangles from www.puffpastry.com I made these for Jeremy’s birthday in March and they were a big hit…as there again this time!

Spinach and Cheese Swirls from www.puffpastry.com (they have a lot of good recipes for puff pastry…) These were ridiculously easy to make and look pretty fancy.

Heirloom Tomato Tart from Whole Foods Cooking Class, courtesy of Beth. I was so impressed by this recipe. I had heard a lot about it and thought I’d try it out. Now, let’s be honest, Beth pretty much made this on her own since I was busy finishing other things up…it was SOOO good! I couldn’t believe I found heirloom tomatoes at HEB! They were a little expensive but the tart was awesome! I’m so sad we didn’t take a picture of this because it was propbably the most pretty thing we made!

Cream Puffs with Irish Cream Whipping Cream from www.gourmet.com I used the cream puff or profiterole recipe from Gourmet but I didn’t try the coffee ice cream and chocolate sauce (although it sounds amazing!). I just put 1 cup of whipping cream and 1 Tablespoon of Irish Cream into my mixer and mixed it until it came to stiff peaks…then Beth put them inside the puffs!

More recipes to come! I promise!

2 thoughts on “Book Club Recipes #1 – now with pictures!

  1. We enjoyed the heirloom tomato tart leftovers for lunch the next day! It was a lot of fun getting to cook/bake with you on Friday! I haven’t done much of that on my own lately. . . Thanks for sharing the recipes – I’m sure I’ll make a couple of them in the future (especially those mushroom bacon triangles. . . yum, I couldn’t stop eating those)!

  2. Such a super-duper spread of goodies. Thanks for the hostessing to both you and Beth! Tracy is thinking of branching out past pizza. 🙂

Leave a Reply

