The Thirteenth Tale

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield was this month’s book club book. So far I think this has been my favorite of all the books we’ve read! I really enjoyed this book. I’m not exactly sure what it is but it reminded me a little of Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights. Setterfield immediately pulls you into the story (and then the stories within the story!). It’s been a while since I’ve read a book that I had a hard time putting down, but I was totally sucked in to this book. There is lots of mystery, scandal, deep emotion, twists and turns! And near the end I started to get very excited, especially as everything began to fall into place and there were some very surprising twists at the end. However, as with any good author, once the twist happens it’s totally believable and you start to realize that she had been giving you clues along the way. When I finished the book I felt like I do after watching an intense movie with a plot twist at the end and I want to go back and watch it again so I can pick up on all the little details that are trying to subtly show you the answer to the riddle! I definitely think I’ll be re-reading it at some point. I would recommend this book to almost anyone. There is a small amount of adult content, but it is very subtle. Mostly, just that the author alludes to an incestuous relationship between siblings, but other than that it is very clean. It looks like a long book, but I think I read it in a week – it’s a very quick and easy read. I’m very excited to talk about this at our next bookclub meeting!

One thought on “The Thirteenth Tale

  1. It should be a great bookclub! I’m glad there are questions in the back too, although I don’t know that we need them, it could help facilitate conversation if we need to use them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

