Fahrenheit 451

This is a little late in coming, but I thought I’d write about it nonetheless. This was July’s book club book (www.austinbookclub.com). I wasn’t able to attend the bookclub because I was in Mexico, however I did finish the book while on a plane on my way back from Mexico! I enjoyed this book and had always wanted to read it.

I wrote a very short review of it on facebook that I have pasted below:

I enjoyed this book. It was a quick read and gave me a lot to think about. I think people who enjoyed books like Brave New World or Animal Farm will like this book. I read this while on a trip with 10 teenagers, many of whom had read it recently in high school. Most of them said they really didn’t like it. That made me wonder if this book is wasted on kids on high school who aren’t ready to understand it…maybe not, maybe it was just those I was talking with, but it makes me wonder if I would have appreciated it when I was in high school – sadly, I doubt it.

So, those were my initial thoughts…if you haven’t read it, you should. Any thoughts?

One thought on “Fahrenheit 451

  1. Yeah it makes me sad how little kids in high school like to read. I loved the books we read in high school but then I have always been an abnormal reader. Fantastic book!

Leave a Reply

