Weekend Update

A little weekend update for you! Well, as I mentioned on Friday, after work I did go to have a facial! It was absolutely marvelous (aside from the fact that I left work late and had to rush to get there living with the fear that I might run out of gas before arriving). It was very relaxing and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I then went home and relaxed a bit before getting ready to go out on Friday night. I don’t even know when the last time was that we ‘went out’ on a Friday night, but we were supposed to pick my brother up from the airport at 11:40 pm so we figured, why not go downtown first? We went to Fado’s Irish Pub with David, Jason, and Beth, at some yummy potatos and drank some very yummy beer before going to pick Michael up from the airport – good times.

 

Saturday brought some lovely relaxation. I made myself some sausage, biscuits, and gravy for breakfast – yum! did the laundry, picked up the house, etc… Jeremy came home around 2:30 and we went to the grocery store and then came home and decided to try to make ribs and rib sauce – turned out pretty tasty! We then lounged around and hung out (I read, we watched tv, hung out…) Oh, and I made homemade salsa for the first time! I have a picture but it’s on the camera (which is not near me at the moment). I used this recipe from Cafe Johnsonia. I did make a few changes, however. There are no serranos for sale at the store right now (due to the salmonilla scare), so I used 2 habaneros and 2 jalepenos. I also left all the seeds in (she says to take out all the seeds) – this was Jeremy’s suggestion, now I wish I’d gone with what I originally was goign to do and that was only remove half the seeds – needless to say it is incredibly spicy (edible, but you have to be pretty tough!), I also only used 1 cup of broth instead of two and added extra cilantro. They flavor is great! I will definately be making it again, but with less pepper seeds and maybe change up the peppers some more (I like the variety!)

Sunday we were heathens and slept in and didn’t go to church. We made a big breakfast and drank our coffee together before cleaning the apartment. Int he afternoon we went to visit Jeremy’s parents. After that we went home and Jeremy went to hang out with David for a while and left me to my book and my cooking. I baked a batch of cookies (white chocolate chip, cranberry, oatmeal – for Jeremy – I don’t like white chocolate) and then I proceeded to make homemade refried beans. I had been soaking the beans all day, and finally cooked them, mashed them, fried them, etc. I think they turned out pretty good. The true test will be tonight when Jeremy tried them with our tacos!

This whole weekend I’ve been reading through my bookclub book – The Thirteenth Tale. It’s been a long time since I’ve read a book that I have trouble putting down, but I’ve been pretty immersed in this book. Now, I ready quite a bit, but even Jeremy commented on how in to this book I seem to be! I almost stayed up last night to finish it but them decided around 11:30 that I had to get myself to bed!

2 thoughts on “Weekend Update

  1. It was a good weekend. Sounds like you got bunches of stuff done!

    I completely agree with you on the book – it is pretty easy to get into.

  2. Pingback: Morelia souvenir # 1 and last night’s dinner « create

Leave a Reply

