1/2 priced books

I know, I need to tell you about Mexico! I just haven’t quite taken the time to sit down and write it all out! But for now I thought I would share with you a few of my purchases from 1/2 Priced Books. Recently I had been thinking about getting rid of some of the books I have taking up space in our tiny apartment that I know I will never read again. I considered Amazon but I don’t think I’m going to have time to deal with having to ship everything off plus you have to pay to use it and I’m not sure my books are really worth it. So I thought I would just take them over to 1/2 Price Books. I’ve heard they don’t give you a lot of money for your books, but I figured, whatever, at least they’ll be out of my apartment, and if they can’t use them they donate them so I figured at least I might get a little money out of it. So last night I filled one of my HEB shopping bags up to the very top with some books that I had lying around – some textbooks, several John Grisham novels, and other misc. books and drove over to the bookstore. Well, whoever told me they don’t give very much money for books was right. I only got $6 but like I said previously, what else am I going to do with them? So I got rid of at least 20 books and came back with 4…and a dvd. I walked into our apartment and Jeremy said, “I thought you went to get rid of books! How did you come back with more?” I wanted to say, “Honey, I’ve been gone for 2 hours, did you really think I was just going to be coming back with my $6?”

In my defense I purchased all my books from the clearance section so they were only a $1 each and the dvd was less than $5. So what did I get? Well, the dvd was Shanghai Noon because it makes me laugh (in fact we watched it last night and I stayed up way too late and am quite tired today).

My first purchase was The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. I am pretty certain that we will be reading this in our book club over the next few months and for a $1 I thought, I should really get this right now! By the way, if you haven’t checked out our book club website www.austinbookclub.comyou really should! And if you’re in Austin you should totally come! I’m actually hosting at the end of August so you should really come.

Now please don’t think I’m weird for buying this next book. I had never heard of it but I thought I would give it a try and now that I’ve looked it up, Amazon gave it 4.5 stars so that’s a good sign. It is Honor Killing by David E Stannard. From the back of the book I deduced that it takes place in the 1930’s in Hawaii when the wife of a military officer cusses 5 nonwhite men of raping her. Her mother then has one of the men killed which is where the “honor killing” comes int to play. It is described as a part true crime thriller. I am fascinated by race and how we interact with each other how we have dealt with it through history. I read two non-fiction books in college dealing with white women who accused African American men of rape and those men were subsequently killed. I always want to go ask those women what they were thinking? Was it vengeance or fear? I don’t know. And I am always amazing at how hard hearted and biased people can be. I don’t know, my emotions are always raised on this topic but I feel that I have a very hard time verbalizing my thoughts and feelings.

On to much happier books…for fun I purchased The Devil Wears Prada and Bridget Jones’ Diaries. Sometimes it good to have some fun, light reading available…

2 thoughts on “1/2 priced books

  1. I think I’ve heard of Honor Killing before – let me know if it’s a good read. Maybe we can do a trade when you’re done! I found Lovely Bones at half price too but I think mine was $5 . . . .

  2. Wow! I didn’t know you read our blog let alone that you had your own! So sorry friend. I will keep that in mind and if you don’t mind I’ll add you to our blog roll?! Yay, more blogging friends. Thanks for saying hi with the encouraging word. -Kelly

Leave a Reply

