Cinnamon Rolls

Well, tonight I made another attempt at yeast bread! I haven’t baked with yeast in over a year. Not because it was a bad experience but because it kind of a lot of work and I’m always so nervous that I’m going to kill the yeast! However, I really wanted to make cinnamon rolls so I took the plunge.

Sorry for the not so great picture, but I had to take it before they all disappeared. At first I thought that I had failed…my dough didn’t really rise. It was supposed to rise to twice it’s size. I called my mom, quite the expert baker, she said to not lose heart that I should continue making them and sometimes they continue to rise in the oven. I’m so glad i called her and didn’t just give up. I got this recipe from my trusty Better Homes and Gardens cook book and used the variation that included the caramel and pecans on top – yum!

As of tonight, Jeremy and I have already eaten 4 of them! So we are definitely taking the last 20 to work tomorrow. Apparently this is not something that I will be making on a regular basis – or we will probably both go into a sugar coma!

And there is my wonderful husband who insisted on cleaning up my baking mess!

4 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Delicious! I haven’t had a cinnamon roll in years. šŸ˜¦

    How do you kill yeast? I don’t think I’ve run into that with the few breads I’ve made that involve yeast (mainly pizza dough).

  2. Well, you can either have the liquid that you add be too cold and then the yeast won’t ‘activiate’ or if your liquid is too hot it will kill the yeast…

Leave a Reply

