Waffles

I know, I’ve been writing a lot about food lately. Lots of recipes. To be perfectly honest, this is not just because I’ve been making a lot of new things for dinner (although I have been), but more because I feel that I have been very unproductive in my sewing projects of late. I had big plans to finish my bag this weekend, alas, I didn’t even take it out. I really wanted to finish it before the 4th of July weekend. We’ll see how that goes. But for now, on to more food…

I love waffles. I’ve always loved waffles. In fact many of my friends new that I liked waffles and I actually got 3 waffle makers when I got married! (I took 2 of them back – as much as I like waffles I only need one waffle maker). For years I had been using the Bisquick waffle recipe and it was pretty good. Recently I didn’t have enough Bisquick to make my waffles, so I pulled out my handy Better Homes and Gardens cook book and made the recipe that was in there – I will never go back to waffles from a box! It takes a little more effort and dirties a few extra bowls but it’s totally worth it. I made this last Thursday for dinner when my friend Chrissy came over.

I couldn’t find this exact recipe on their website, but it seems to be a mixture of this one and this one…so I put the recipe I use below… I really think its the egg whites that do the trick!

Waffles
Better Homes and Gardens, Pg. 127

Prep: 10 minutes
This batter works in a regular waffle baker as well as a Belgian waffle baker.

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 egg yolks
1 3/4 cups milk
1/2 cup cooking oil
2 egg whites

Method:

  1. In a medium mixing bowl stir together flour, baking powder, and salt. Make a well in the center of dry mixture; set aside.
  2. In another medium mixing bowl beat egg yolks slightly. Stir in milk and pil. Add egg yolk mixture all at once to the dry mixture. Stir just till moistened (batter should be lumpy)
  3. In a small mixing bowl beat egg whites till stiff peaks form (tips stand straight). Gently fold beaten egg whites into flour and egg yolk mixture, leaving a few fluffs of egg white. Do not over mix.
  4. Pour 1 to 1 1/4 cups batter onto grids of a pre-heated, lightly greased waffle baker. Close lid quickly; do no open till done. Bake according to manufacturer’s directions. When done, use a fork to lift waffle off grid. Repeat with remaining batter. Serve warm. Makes 12-16 (40inc) waffles.

Nutrition Facts per waffle: 172 cal., 11 g total fat (2 g sat. fat), 38 mg chol., 164 mg sodium, 15 g carbo., 0 g fiber, 4 g pro.
Daily Values: 7% vit. A, 0% vit. C, 11% calcum, 6% iron

2 thoughts on “Waffles

  1. Jeremy loves waffles…I am surprised we don’t have a waffle maker yet…maybe soon — and this sounds great as the christening waffle recipe!

Leave a Reply

