Caramel Corn

I have a group of 10 7th grade girls that I meet with once a week during the school year. So much more could be said about them – how they challenge me, shape me, make me laugh, sometimes their stories make me cry – they are awesome. Last Wednesday was our last meeting of the year, so last Friday I had them over to my apartment for a sleep over…lots of sugar, scrap booking, nail polish, and fun.

My friend Chrissy came over and helped me prepare some goodies for our night – cupcakes, blackberry pastry cups, chips and queso, Chex mix, and caramel corn. We actually made the caramel corn from scratch. this is something that my mom used to do when I was little and I had tried it one other time. I used a recipe from the Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook – I know this isn’t a book of culinary genius but I honestly believe it’s a cookbook that should be in the kitchen of every new cook. It’s basic recipes and easy to follow directions make it easy to use. It also has great tools – hints, weights and measurements, substitutions, and more. Anyway, here’s the recipe and I even remembered to take a few pictures! Oh, and I added peanuts to mine to make it a little more ‘Cracker Jack-like’. Recipe can be found here.

Here it is before covering it with caramel (I added peanuts)!

Here I am stiring in the butter…

Here it is getting all carmelly

And there it is cooking in the oven!

2 thoughts on “Caramel Corn

  1. It’s funny how I have never made caramel corn or caramel apples, they’re both pretty simple to make and fairly nostalgic items! It sounds delicious though, thanks for sharing!

  2. This makes me think of my childhood — my mom used to make caramel corn for us all the time! I loved it! I have thought of trying to make it over the past few years, and now that I am also reminded of how easy it is…I might actually do it!

Leave a Reply

