More Three Cups of Tea

Three Cups of TeaOur book club met last Friday night and I am pleased to say that I finished our book on time this month (of course I finished that morning, but I still finished!). We read Three Cups of Tea and I must say, I thought it was an excellent read. I really enjoyed it. For some it may seem a bit slow at first. I felt like the first half of the book was really what I expected the book to be about, but the second half was probably the entire purpose of the book. I guess I felt like the book could be split into two sections. The first one being focused on Mortensen’s initial school in Korphe and the second half went further as 9/11 happened and Mortensen began to pursue school building in Afghanistan and encourage Americans to have a different perspectivee of Muslims. I think this would be a great read for anyone – it’s inspiring, enlightening, and it’s happening right now. I give it 5 stars and will encourage everyone I know to pick it up and take the time to read it!

Unfortunately, since I finished April’s book so late, I must jump right into May’s book, A Thousand Splendid Suns. I must say that I wish we had pushed this book further back in the summer since right now it is still only available as a hardback. I have only read the first few chapters. There are 52 chapters so I figure I need to average about 2 a day to finish on time this month. I also think maybe we should have thought through the length of books a little better and alternated, longer and shorter books as Three Cups of Tea was a little over 300 as is A Thousand Splendid Suns. I don’t know why I care, I’m sure I’ll get through the book just fine if I stick to my plan and don’t get distracted by playing addiction solitaire on my computer when I do have time to read at home!

Leave a Reply

