Deep In Our Hearts…and other new books

Well, last night I finally finished Deep in our Hearts: Nine White Women in the Freedom Movement. This is a book that I bought while studying at Taylor University. I went on a month long tour of the South to study the Civil Rights Movement. I bought this book while on the trip and finally read it. It was really good, but it took me a while to get through it. Really, it’s like nine autobiographical essays of these nine women who worked in the Civil Rights Movement. Their stories both inspire and amaze me. I think it was mostly hard to get through because really there are only nine chapters so I felt like I needed to keep going to finish the chapter (which I rarely have time to do) because if not I sometimes had a hard time remembering what was going on where I left off. All in all, it was great, an educational reminder of all the things that went on during that time, an interesting perspective coming from a woman’s viewpoint. I would probably only recommend it to someone who is really interested in the Civil Rights Movement – it’s definitely been easier to read since I have been to most of the places and spent some time really studying that time period.

So, what’s the new book in my history category? Lynn Peril’s College Girls: Bluestockings, Sex Kittens, and Co-Eds, Then and Now. I read Lynn Peril’s Pink Think: Becoming a Woman in Many Uneasy Lessons a couple of years ago after having heard that one of my former Taylor professors had assigned it to his Women’s History class. I thoroughly enjoyed it and put it on my Amazon wish list. So this year for Christmas, Jeremy got on my list and ordered it for me along with a few other items on my list! I was waiting until I finished my last book in order to begin this one (that just shows how long it took to read Deep In Our Hearts!). So, I’m very excited and will let you know if it’s as entertaining as her previous book

Leave a Reply

