Books

I really do love to read, but I also force myself to do it because I think it’s important to always be learning. Generally the way that I read is I have four or so books each from a specific category; this way I can alternate between books if I’m getting frustrated, bored, feel it’s too intellectual for the moment, etc…

My categories and the books I’m reading…

1. History. I try to always be reading some kind of book that has to do with history. I was/am a history major and try to always be reading things that somehow relate to that genre. I have been reading Deep in our Hearts: Nine White Women in the Freedom Movement for several months now.

2. Christian. I do try to keep at least one book on my shelf that has a “Christian” theme. Some of the books I’ve read recently in that category – A Case for Christ and Sacred Marriage. Right now I am slowly working my way through A Case For A Creator by Lee Strobel. I don’t really have any comments yet…

3. John Grisham. I almost always have an ongoing John Grisham novel. These are mostly for the times that I just want to relax and not have to think very much. I started reading them last year. I decided that I would begin to read his books in the order they were written, so far I’ve read A Time to Kill, The Firm, The Pelican Brief, The Client, and The Chamber. I am currently reading The Rainmaker.

4. My Book Club Book. I’m in a book club www.austinbookclub.com and every month we read a book together and so there is always one from that category on my shelf. So far we have read C.S. Lewis’ Surprised by Joy, Lisa See’s Snowflower and the Secret Fan, and Ariel Levy’s Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture. Right now we are reading John Bristow’s What Paul Really Said About Women.

5. Other. Sometimes there are other books that I add to the pile for various reasons…Right now they include Shauna Niequist’s Cold Tangerines(which I absolutely love!), Lee Strobel’s The Case for Faith: Student Edition (I’m going through this with my 7th grade d-group), Kelly Minter’s study, No Other Gods (this has been really great. My friend Chrissy and I are going through it together), and I just started John and Staci Eldridge’s Captivating (I’m supposed to start reading this with two other friends – Chrissy and Tiffany – so we can discuss it together).

So, there are a lot of books on my bookshelf right now, but I’m trying to enjoy it as much as possible because I know once I start classes again, I won’t have nearly as much time to read for fun!

Leave a Reply

