Slow Cooker Cuban Braised Beef and Peppers

I am quite behind in my posts right now! Good news is that I’ve finished my class and I have been quite busy so far on my days off. I’ve tackled some Christmas sewing with a little more still to go. Last week I purchased all the rest of my Christmas gifts and wrapped most of them (Oh and had a bunch of 7th and 8th grade girls over to my house to decorate Christmas cookies and play Cranium!). In the midst of all that’s going on, I’ve also done some cooking!

This is Real Simple’s Slow Cooker Cuban Braised Beef and Peppers recipe. Now let me first say that it was a journey to make this dish (although not because it’s difficult!). Sometimes I don’t get to cook the recipes I plan on the days that I plan them. I originally planned this recipe but then I got sick and instead of making it I laid on the couch and ate Vietnamese Pho Ga that Jeremy brought me. Of course, I’d already purchased the meet and in my illness forgot about it and it went bad. :( I tried again the next week only to have several things come up, never made it, and then my meat went bad again…bad call! I normally remember to put meat in the freezer if I don’t think I’ll be able to cook on time but this recipe had already waisted 3 pieces of flank steak! (I was pretty frustrated by this…). Anyway, I was determined to make this happen! In the end I made it with a skirt steak instead because they didn’t have what I wanted for flank stead at HEB and the skirt steak worked fine. I also added a green pepper in there too because I still had one left from Jenn’s garden. And there was one final change…really a mistake. I wasn’t paying attention and when I went to put a teaspoon of cumin in I accidently put a teaspoon of cinnamon! It all turned out ok…but there is a hint of cinnamon at the end of every bite! I also forgot to use the avocados I had purchased. :(

So overall, I frustrated myself with this meal, but it was actually super easy – as most slow cooker recipes are – just throw it all in the pot with minimum cutting/prepping and just let it cook away. Jeremy really loved this and I thought it was pretty good. Definitly very flavorful and cozy.

One thought on “Slow Cooker Cuban Braised Beef and Peppers

Leave a Reply

